Apple Time!

Apple Time! Bounty from Jack’s sister’s garden.

It’s Apple Time!  We went to visit Jack’s sister and she gave us some apples from her wonderful apple tree!
They’re green with gold, Granny Smith I think.  Anyway, she’s invited us back to get a bunch of them, which is gonna be great, with all the pending holiday baking about to take place!  Apple everything!  Can’t wait!

I have so many recipes, I should just sit down and write that cook book!  Sure have been threatening to do so for a long time.  Well, if there are any readers out there interested, let me know and I’ll send a few recipes out, and if there’s enough interest maybe I’ll write a cooking blog…that could be a lot of fun. So feel free to let me know via the comments thingie.

The pending elections are pretty much all that’s being talked about on the buses and street corners here in North Beach.  During one of my walks, I just took a seat in the park for a little while and listened.  Word on the street?  Jobs.  We need jobs.    People are confused about the health care bill, most agree we need something to happen…..that’s true.  But what?  The economy is the most important thing on everybody’s mind. Seems like rich or poor (if “rich” means nice clothes, styled hair and good shoes and poor means the rest of us schlubbs) alike feel the same way.   So it goes.

But here I am, enjoying the moment with my booty basket of apples, getting ready to go into baking mode for the next several weeks…I’m in hog heaven!

Even though we don’t have the same kind of four seasons here in California as can be had back in Philly, we set our calendars according to the fruits and veggies…like right now.  Autumn…Apples.
The only thing missing?  Falling leaves……I miss raking them up into a big pile then jumping in!  There’s nothing like the smell of autumn leaves, or the crunch, or the color….brings out the kid in me!

So for today, Fifty Five Is The New Apple Time!  Let’s go find a pile of fresh raked leaves and dive in!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

